FrankYangDr. Frank J. Yang earned his Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from the University of Utah under the supervising of Professor Calvin J. Giddings in 1973. In 1976, Dr. Yang joined Varian Associates Walnut Creek Division, California where he became Manager for the Chromatography Research Group. During his 10 years association with Varian, he had involved and was responsible for the development of 3000 series gas chromatograph, 5500 Series liquid chromatograph, and capillary column GC

and HPLC products for Varian. In 1986, Dr. Yang served as vice president of technology for Lee Scientific, Inc. and was responsible for the development of the model 6000 Supercritical Fluid Chromatograph, column oven, and Flame Ionization Detector(FID). After the merger of Lee Scientific Inc. with Dionex Corporation, Sunnyvale, California in 1988, Dr.Yang became the Director of Technology for Dionex until January 1991. From January 1991 to March 1993, Dr.Yang was the President and Chief Executive Officer of the FFFractionation, Inc. in Salt Lake City, Utah. In 1991. Dr. Yang founded Micro-Tech Scientific in Saratoga, California. in 1991. From 1991 to 2008, Dr. Yang served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Micro-Tech Scientific, Inc. in Sunnyvale, California. From 2009 to 2010, Dr. Yang was the Chief Executive Officer and Vice Chairman of the Board of CVC Technologies. He is now the President of the AcuTech Scientific Inc., a San Diego, California Company.

Dr., Yang is best known for his theoretical understanding of the theory of separation processes and his innovation and pioneering the development, engineering and commercialization of many products including capillary GC, HPLC, Supercritical Fluid Chromatograph, Field Flow Fractionation, multi-dimensional-HPLC, capillary column ultra-high pressure liquid chromatograph, nano-technology for biological sample preparation, cancer bio-marker Discovery and Quantification, Raman universal chemical detection system, etc.

He holds more than 12 patents on key technologies in separation science. Dr., Yang is the author and co-author of over 65 scientific publications. He was a co-author of the biannual review on gas chromatography for Journal of Analytical Chemistry, and a co-author of the book Open Tubular Column Gas Chromatography-Theory and Practice, John Wiley, 1984.The Editor of the book Micro-bore Column Chromatography: A Unified Approach to Chromatography, Marcel Dekker, Inc., 1989. He served as a Consulting Editor for the LC/GC Magazine of Chromatographic Science, a member of the Advisory Board for the Journal of Micro-Column Separation, the Journal of Liquid Chromatography, and a member of the organizing committee for the International Symposium on Micro-Column Separations. Dr., Yang was a Guest Professor of the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. He is now the Technical Advisor for the Kaohsiung Medical University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan.